Lifestyle & Belief

Peabody Awards winners: 'Girls,' Lorne Michaels and CNN


Lena Dunham (C) poses in the press room with her award for "Best performance by an actress in a television comedy or musical series" award for 'Girls' along with co-stars Zosia Mamet (L) and Allison Williams at the Golden Globes awards ceremony in Beverly Hills on January 13, 2013. A


Robyn Beck

This year's Peabody Awards winners include "Girls," Lorne Michaels, the creator of “Saturday Night Live,” Scotusblog, and a number of television shows.

The prestigious awards, which honor excellence in electronic media, were announced today by the University of Georgia’s Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication.

CBS News anchor Scott Pelley will host the awards ceremony May 20 in New York.

Winners in the news category include CNN's coverage of Syria, ABC News' coverage of Hurricane Sandy and that network's public-service campaign to educate the public about “Good Morning America” co-anchor Robin Roberts’ rare blood disease.

HBO was recognized with several Peabodys, most notably for Lena Dunham’s comedy “Girls,” the movie “Game Change” about Sarah Palin and two documentaries “The Loving Story” and “Marina Abramovic: The Artist Is Present.”

International recipients include “Salat (Bone Dry)” about malnourished children in the Philippines, “Sri Lanka’s Killing Fields: War Crimes Unpunished,” and “The Other Side of Jimmy Savile” about the beloved British television celebrity and alleged sexual predator.