Lifestyle & Belief

Giants' World Series win leads to rioting in San Francisco


San Francisco Giants fans start bonfires on a street to celebrate their team's winning of the World Series against the Detroit Tiger in San Francisco on October 28, 2012. San Francisco became the 21st team to capture the throne in a sweep and kept the Tigers searching for their first World Series crown since 1984.



More than 10,000 people in San Francisco gathered to watch the World Series game between the San Francisco Giants and the Detroit Tigers Sunday night in the city's Civic Center. When the Giants won, the streets erupted into a massive party, USA Today reported. Fans honked their horns and set off fireworks. But after a few hours of celebrating, most people went home, and that's when the trouble began. Several small groups began to riot on Market Street, setting fires in the middle of the streets. Photos of a city bus burning were also posted on Twitter, USA Today said. 

More from GlobalPost: When the BRICs Crumble

The Giants' Sunday night win marks the second time in three years that they have won the World Series. They are only the second team to accomplish this feat since the playoff field was doubled from four teams to eight teams in 1995, the San Francisco Chronicle reported. The other team to achieve this record was the New York Yankees, who won three in a row from 1998 to 2000. 

"It's unbelievable what happened here the last two to three weeks," team manager Bruce Bochy told the Chronicle. "I'm amazed. I couldn't be prouder of these guys."

But the victory belongs to Venezuela as much as it does to San Francisco. A record nine Venezuelans were on the rosters of the Tigers and the Giants in this year’s World Series, the Associated Press reported. Baseball has long been Venezuela’s most popular sport, and over the past decade the country has sent more and more players to the major leagues. For the World Series, the nine Venezuelans played alongside nine Dominicans and two Puerto Ricans on the two teams, producing a record 30 foreign-born players for the championship.