Will Power wins third consecutive São Paulo Indy 300


Australia's Will Power, of Team Penske, celebrates after winning the São Paulo Indy 300 race at the Sambodromo racetrack in São Paulo, Brazil, on April 29, 2012. US driver Ryan Hunter-Reay, of Andretti Autosport, and Japan's Takuma Sato, of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, got second and third place respectively.



SÃO PAULO, Brazil — Australian pole-sitter Will Power won his third consecutive São Paulo Indy 300 on Sunday, making it his 18th career IndyCar victory.

American Ryan Hunter-Reay took second, with Japan's Takuma Sato coming in a career-best third, according to Agence France-Presse. Hunter-Reay pressured power on a restart with four laps to go, but the Aussie managed to stay up front and take the title.

"We did it — three for three," Power said to AFP. "Ryan got a really good jump. I knew I had to just go like you wouldn't believe to get through those first few corners. It was a great race."

Hunter-Reay also came in second to Power in São Paulo's inaugural 2010 IndyCar race, reported the Sports Network.

"It was great racing Will, and he raced me really clean," Hunter-Reay told Sports Network. "I thought that was my time to do it right there on the restart, because he was getting such a great exit shot out of so many corners. So I knew I had to do it early. I jumped it there and tried to get him. He had that inside."

More from GlobalPost: IndyCar drivers had safety concerns

Third-placed Sato overtook reigning series champion Dario Franchitti on a late restart and managed to hold the spot for his first career podium finish, according to AFP.

"It was a great opportunity and I decided to go for it," Sato said. "It turned out great. For third it was an amazing job."