Lifestyle & Belief

Messi wins 2011 FIFA Player of the Year award (VIDEO)


Lionel Messi of Barcelona receives the FIFA Ballon d'Or 2011 trophy on January 9, 2012 in Zurich, Switzerland.


Scott Heavey

Well, Messi did it again.

Lionel Messi, 24, is "the first to win FIFA player of the year three times in a row," according to the Associated Press.

Sid Lowe from the Guardian blogged about the meaning of Messi's third crown:

"It is no longer about whether or not Messi is currently the best player in the world; it is about whether he might even be the best there has ever been."

Read more on GlobalPost: Lionel Messi: Latin America's most marketable athlete

Messi, who plays for FC Barcelona and Argentina, beat Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo and teammate Xavi Hernandez to claim the FIFA Ballon d'Or award, better known as the best player of the year award.

Messi accepted the trophy from another three-time winner, former Brazil forward Ronaldo.

Read more on GlobalPost: Lionel Messi: Snubbed by a video game?

According to CNN, Messi said, "I want to dedicate this award to the thousands of people who, through more than a hundred years, have worked for FC Barcelona and helped develop one of the best clubs in the world."

FC Barcelona's manager Pep (Josep) Guardiola was also crowned best manager of 2011.

Read more on GlobalPost: It's a Messi world

Here's a video of Messi's award announcement: