Conflict & Justice

Indian police arrest 6 suspects in 2010 terror attacks


Activists from India's Congress Party shout slogans as they burn an effigy representing the 'Indian Mujahideen' organisation during a protest in Mumbai on December 8, 2010. The organisation had claimed responsibility for a blast at a crowded bathing ghat in Varanasi the day before that left a child dead and 37 others injured.



The Delhi police arrested six men they allege were involved in terrorist attacks in Delhi, Bangalore and Pune in 2010, NDTV reported.

The police said the six men, one of whom is from Pakistan, are members of the Indian Mujahideen, a banned terrorist organization, according to the news channel.

The police allege that the six suspects were involved in bombings at New Delhi's Jama Masjid, Bangalore's Chinnaswamy stadium and Pune's German Bakery in 2010.

The Sept. 19, 2010, blast at the Jama Masjid resulted in minimal damage. But two low-intensity explosions near Bangalore's cricket stadium injured 15 persons including five security personnel. And an explosion at the German Bakery in Pune in February 2010 killed 11 people and injured 59.

The six suspects were arrested from Delhi, Chennai and Bihar over the past few days. Police have identified them as Mohammad Ajmal, a Pakistani national, Mohd Qatal Siddiqui, Goffar Aziz, Gayur Ahmed, Abdul Rehmaan and Irshad Khan, according to NDTV.

The Pakistani national was arrested in Madhubani, Bihar after he was found to be using a fake passport, the news channel quoted police sources as saying.