NASA's Curiosity Rover Successfully Lands on Mars

Mars_Curiosity-e1344254105901.jpg

Mars Science Laboratory Curiosity rover flight controllers and managers (L-R) Richard Cook, Pete Theisinger and Adam Steltzner congratulate their team members after a successful rover landing, during a news conference at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, California August 5, 2012. The rover landed on the Martian surface shortly after 10:30 p.m. Pacific time on Sunday (1:30 a.m. EDT Monday/0530 GMT) to begin a two-year mission seeking evidence the Red Planet once hosted ingredients for life, NASA said. REUTERS/Fred Prouser (UNITED STATES - Tags: SCIENCE TECHNOLOGY)

Credit:

REUTERS

NASA has successfully landed its huge new robot rover in a deep crater on Mars.